top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWhytnee Shattuck

You Should See Me In A Crown

Johnson, L. (2020). You should see me in a crown. Scholastic Press.


Summary

Liz has never felt like she's fit in to her 'prom-obsessed' town. Her plan is to get into an elite college, Pennington, play for their orchestra, and leave Campbell forever. Unfortunately, life has different plans, and her financial aid falls through. The only thing Liz can think of doing is entering into the school's competition for prom queen--because winning comes with a scholarship. That's the absolute last thing she wants to do, but when the new girl, Mack, runs for queen too, Liz finds herself interested in more than just the competition.


A Teacher's Perspective

I picked this book from the YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults list, but saw it on a couple of other lists as well. I knew immediately I couldn't just go get it form the library, so I purchased it for my personal library. I FINISHED IT IN ONE SITTING. I love this book. I want all of my kids to read this book. It's deep and endearing, it speaks to those who feel like they just don't belong, who feel like they aren't the perfect fit for the perfect mold in the perfect town at the perfect school.

I've always considered myself a very outspoken ally-my LGBTQIA+ kids are safe with me and I will fight for them, but I don't have enough literature that gives them characters to identify themselves. I knew I needed this one. I'm so glad I bought it and I recommend it for a classroom library.


Want to know more?

To purchase your own copy of You Should See Me In A Crown: Click here!


If you would like to teach this book (you can buy copies directly from scholastic) there is a great novel study on TeachersPayTeachers (not my product): link





bottom of page