top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWhytnee Shattuck

Learn YA Lit with Me (Ch.20)

The one where Ms. Shattuck learns details about "23 books that can be used during Hispanic Heritage month."


I'm taking a class on Young Adult literature this semester at SHSU and am required to blog about each chapter that I read, so I thought I'd create a series to share with my blog friends. Welcome to Chapter 20.



Summary:

I will not be listing all 23 books from the School Library Journal website here, but will give 5 honorable mentions. If you are interested in the list, please visit: https://www.slj.com/?detailStory=23-ya-middle-grade-books-honor-hispanic-heritage-month


Honorable Mentions:

  • Lucky Broken Girl by: Ruth Behar---A family from Cuba struggling in America has a daughter named Ruthie who is navigating public education. This autobiographical middle grade novel is compared to The Secret Garden

  • All the Wind in the World by: Samantha Mabry---Set in a mysterious ranch called The Real Marvelous, outlaw "cousins" hide their passionate relationship while trying to navigate their way out of poverty.

  • Wild Beauty by: Anna-Marie McLemore---written with lyrical prose, this magical realism story features enchantments that include all spectrums of sexuality.

  • Miles Morales: Spider Man by: Jason Reynolds---Afro-Puerto Rican Spiderman with a Korean American best friend learning how to deal with the complexities of teen life and the darkness within.

  • They Both Die in the End by: Adam Silvera---Latinx queer boys deal with loss in a new and creative way-an app. This book is compared to Lurlene McDaniel writings, Rachel Cohn, David Levithan, and Nicola Yoon texts.


Reflection:

I LOVE this list. I've heard of several of these books and have already started reading a couple from our required reading list, but this list is amazing. I especially cannot wait to review a few books that I can put in my classroom for my students who are exploring who they are, in a way that they can relate.

1 view0 comments
bottom of page